Skip navigation

PA15261506116It’s hard to say what makes someone a close friend, someone important to you. In Warren Thornthwaite’s case, I have felt a strong connection ever since meeting at a Christmas party in 1984. Since then, Warren and I have spent a lot of time together through a combination of work commitments he shared with Margy, vacations together and more recently, traveling to Wildflower to race on the first weekend of May. Warren has been a Wildflower stalwart. The Wildflower weekends have become almost ritual. I know where the key to the shed is so that I can get Warren’s bike, where we go for groceries and what we should get at Trader Joe’s instead of the grocery store. So, even though we don’t usually see one another more than once a year and only talk a few times a year by phone, we can just pick it up every year as though we live next door to one another. I don’t know of anyone with whom I am more me than I am with Warren as we head down the 101 toward Lake San Antonio.

So it came as a shock today when Warren called to let us know that he has a brain tumor. On Saturday, Warren took a run and experienced tingling in his hands. His partner, Elizabeth, insisted that he go to the hospital and, as it turns out, she was right. Warren has a tumor about the size of an egg of unknown origin or composition.

So I’m asking all the other Wildflower guys to keep Warren very much in mind tomorrow as he has the tumor removed. We’ll know more tomorrow.

Meanwhile, Warren says that the recovery time from this operation is likely short and that he plans to be there this year on the shores of Lake San Antonio when the horn sounds, ready to plunge in and race. If I have anything to say about it, that will happen – absolutely. I’ll be ready and plan to go out to the shed for the bike.

2 Comments

  1. I am so distressed to hear this. We were with them just 2 weekends ago. Please keep us updated.

    • Ward, Emmerson - Plymouth
    • Posted March 25, 2013 at 8:15 am
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    Thank you for posting this.

    Warren will be in my thoughts today. I look forward to an update when you have the chance.

    Emmerson


Leave a Reply

